All things Lucas

My birth story 

Now that Lucas has turned 2, my timehop is filled with pictures of newborn Lucas and it’s making me reflect on my labour a lot. Itbelieve it was 2 years ago already. So I’ve decided to write a post about my labour.
I had been in and out of hospital for the last few weeks of my pregnancy due to various complications. My pregnancy hadn’t been smooth sailing either, due to Hyoeremesis Gravidarum (http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/Pages/Severe-vomiting-in-pregnancy-hyperemesis-gravidarum.aspx), as well as a threatened miscarriage at 19 weeks. He was almost delivered at 33 weeks due to a bleed and his heart rate dipping, so I stayed in hospital for a few days being monitored. Then I was in and out of the hospital due to decreased movements and taken in by ambulance due to pre-eclampsia symptoms as well. Understandably I reached the end stages of my pregnancy frustrated and worried sick. At 37 weeks I went into slow labour and my waters broke at 22:45 on the 3rd March 2015, while I was 37+6 weeks pregnant.

I was asked to go straight into hospital due to the fact I was now classed as “high risk” after discovering I had Group B strep (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/a1647/group-b-streptococcus-in-pregnancy). The hospital confirmed my waters had gone after examining me and explained I was 1-2cm dilated. I had a cannula put into my hand and given antibiotics for the Strep. At 03:15 we were taken into the delivery room, where I spent the rest of the night bouncing on a ball (somehow managed to white being attached to the machine) and waiting to be induced.

I was finally started on the drip at 07:30. At around 9am, Lucas’s heart rate dropped dangerously low, and my midwife pulled the emergency cord – apologising and said that the room was going to get extremely busy. She wasn’t wrong, almost instantly lots of do hid and midwives came into the room and started buzzing around, talking to the midwife while looking at the machine and talking to me. They explained that I needed to be taken immediately to theatre for a cesearion section. I was absolutely terrified, they immediately started moving my bed out the room, I grabbed Josh’s hand in a panic and he asked if he could come with me and they said no as I was being put to sleep. It was a bit of a blur after that. I remember being asked for my consent and the aneathiest explaining that he would put a finger to my throat to knock me out. The room was extremely bright. I had lots of people all gathered round me and prodding and poking. I was seconds away from being knocked out when Lucas’s heart rate suddenly picked up again.

I was eventually wheeled back out of theatre on the hospital bed (still pregnant) to a bewildered Josh. I remember being extremely shook up and crying. I had an epidural put in so that if it happened again they could just adjust the epidural instead of putting me to sleep. By this point my contractions had started coming on thick and fast so I was grateful for it. It sadly didn’t work the first time. After being put in a second time it thankfully worked.

About an hour after this, I suddenly had the single most intense pain I had ever felt yet in my life, which seemed to go on forever. We realised my epidural had suddenly worn off, and because of the intensity of my contraction my midwife suspected I was fully dilated – which I was! We were all really surprised as I had gone from 4cm to 10cm very quickly. I had a sudden urge to push, but was told by a doctor that I had to hold off for an hour due to my epidural. Finally, at 5pm I was allowed to start pushing. 35 minutes later, on the 4th March 2015 at 17:35 my beautiful son was born. Lucas Alexander Gerrard weighed 6lb 12oz and was absolutely perfect ❤

 

Leave a Reply

