Mental health diary

I hate you, don’t leave me: my fight against BPD

Back in July last year, I found out that I had been diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. If you don’t know what this is, I recommend having a read of this – What is BPD?

I had actually been diagnosed with this 3 years previous to this, but was only told of the diagnosis last year after a dip in my mental health *sigh*. At the time of diagnosis I was struggling badly with my BPD, as well as Depressive Psychosis, GAD and Panic Disorder (I should add here that I no longer have Panic Disorder and I have no psychosis).  My BPD now seems to be mostly under control. I don’t know whether this is down to the work that I have been doing, whether it is my counselling, medication, or a mix of the three. As it stands at the moment is:

  • You feel very worried about people abandoning you, and would do anything to stop that happening – I do worry a lot about being abandoned still.
  • You have very intense emotions that last from a few hours to a few days and can change quickly (for example, from feeling very happy and confident in the morning to feeling low and sad in the afternoon). –  I do have some dips in my mood but not very often.
  • You don’t have a strong sense of who you are, and it can change depending on who you’re with. – I’ve definitely started to realize who I am more recently. Its a working progress.
  • You find it very hard to make and keep stable relationships. – this one has never really been an issue for me. I have great friends, one friend who I’ve been friends with for over 10 years, and I have been with my partner for 4 and a half years.
  • You act impulsively and do things that could harm you (such as binge eating, using drugs or driving dangerously). – I act impulsively to get things done, although I think this relates more to my anxiety but I woul
  • You have suicidal thoughts or self-harming behaviour. – No, not anymore.
  • You feel empty and lonely a lot of the time. – I used to, but I can’t remember feeling like this for a while now.
  • You get very angry, and struggle to control your anger. – My partner told me only last week that I’ve been a lot calmer recently and haven’t been getting angry. It has been a massive problem in the past but I can’t remember the last time I felt intense anger.
  • When very stressed, sometimes you might:
    • feel paranoid – not anymore, was never a big problem to begin with though
    • have psychotic experiences, such as seeing or hearing things other people don’t – it’s been a very long time since I’ve had a psychotic experience
    • feel numb or ‘checked out’ and not remember things properly after they’ve happened. – again, never been a massive issue but it has happened before

Looking at this, I can see that I only meet 4 of the 9 criteria, when last summer I ticked all the boxes. You need to meet 5 of these above points to be diagnosed with BPD, so it’s very interesting to see that I actually technically fall below this threshold now. I have another appointment with my psychiatrist in April so I will definitely re-evaluate this when I see him.

I have come so far though from where I was last summer. Last summer I had a complete mental breakdown, I was having multiple manic attacks a day and suffering from suicidal thoughts. I spent some time in hospital and then had what seemed to be endless outpatient appointments. My mind was in absolute turmoil. Now I no longer have Panic Disorder, or psychosis. My main issue is my anxiety, but that’s something for another day. When I first received this diagnosis, it took a while for it to sink in and then even longer for me to accept it. I felt like I was “wrong”. But I realize now that I’m not “wrong” and don’t have a bad personality, I was just dealt a crappy hand of cards when I was little which contributed to my mental health diagnosis. BPD isn’t a life sentence like I originally thought, there is light at the end of the tunnel – and hopefully I stay in that light now.

1 thought on “I hate you, don’t leave me: my fight against BPD”

  1. I’ve been reading about this lately, and I definitely fall under this criteria, which I think was induced by trauma. The funny thing is I’m just now starting to notice this, becausehas always been hard to control my emotions and to maintain good friendships

    Like

Leave a Reply

